Drawing Locked for Editing message appears when opening a drawing

Issue:  Drawing Locked for Editing message appears when opening a drawing

DrawingLocked

Description: If a drawing is opened by another user on another computer or was not closed properly the last time it was opened or if the program crashed, then you might see “Drawing Locked for Editing” after opening Design or when you click File>Open Drawing

Solution:  To remove the lock file associated with this drawing, please follow the steps below:

  1. Close DS|Design
  2. Browse to the location where this drawing is stored, the default location is the My Drawings folder
  3. Delete the LCK file associated with the drawing you are experiencing the message box. If you do not see a .lck file please see the below Note for instructions on how to show Hidden Files and Folders
  4. Open DS|Design

Note: If you unable to see the .LCK file then you will need to enable “Show hidden files and folders” by doing the following

In Windows 7, 8.1 & 10

  • Click the Start Button or the Windows Logo button
  • Type in Folder Options, Press Enter
  • Go to the View tab
  • Under Advanced settings look for the Hidden Files and Folders section
  • Choose “Show hidden files and folders”
  • Click OK

In Windows XP

  • Click Start>Control Panel>Folder Options
  • Go to the View tab
  • Under Advanced settings look for the Hidden Files and Folders section
  • Choose “Show hidden files and folders”
  • Click OK
in DS|DesignDS|Design Errors/Issues